AFCOM Leaders Labs

New for 2018! Results of the AFCOM Leaders Labs will be unveiled at Data Center World! Be the first in the industry to receive hot-off-the-press whitepapers providing actionable insights and guidance on challenging issues facing data centers today.


Best Practices for Machine Learning and AI-ready Data Centers

Executive Summary available now

Data Center Disaster Prevention and Recovery Plan

Executive Summary available now

Data Center Energy Crisis Assessment Tool and Plan

Executive Summary available now

The Internet of Things Planning Guide for Data Centers

Executive Summary available now

Best Practices for a Data Center Security Breach Response

Executive Summary available now

Data Center Hybrid Architecture: How to Find the Right Fit

Executive Summary available now

AFCOM Leaders Lab whitepapers are certified by the Data Center Institute board of directors and are the culmination of in-depth dialog and collaborative effort of the Leaders Lab participants who worked side-by-side to tackle the rapidly changing demands on the data center and map out recommendations for future directions.

Where Can You Learn from the Leaders Labs at Data Center World?

The following sessions will deliver insights to the key findings of the Leaders Labs.

And there’s more… Leaders Lab Speakers

The following sessions are not specifically tied to the key findings of a particular Leaders Lab, but are presented by an illustrious Leaders Lab participant.

Meet the Leaders Lab 2017 Alumni: Industry Thought Leaders

You’ll know when you meet a Leaders Lab thought leader at Data Center World. They just have that look of wisdom and clout. Oh, and you can identify them by their special badge ribbon. Data Center World and AFCOM are thrilled to announce the distinguished list of the inaugural Leaders Lab alumni.

Leaders Lab Advisors

Devon Ackerman, Kroll
Laura Cunningham, HPE
Bill Kleyman, MTM Technologies
Jeff Macko, Kroll
Geoff Overland, Critical Efficiency Inc.
Michael Skaff, Jewish Senior Living Group
Kenneth Sanford, Dataiku

Leaders Lab Participants

Micha Atai, BCBS NC
Butch Atkins, University of Kentucky
Bennie Alexander, Oracle
James Andres, Verizon
Miles Auvil, Siemens
Joseph Ayala, Netsource Communications
Jon Bachtold, CIRBN LLC
Terry Barrett, West Safety Services
Kelly Bates, Department of Veterans Affairs
Jim Bearce, Wal-Mart Stores
Nick Benjamin, Cincinnati Insurance Company
Dudley Booth, Yum! Brands, Inc.
Petar Bojovic, BCBS NC
Michael Brunson, OneNeck IT Solutions
Paul Burke, Tri-Health
George Clement, Intel
Barclay Close, SECU
Thomas Costello, XR Trading LLC
Charity Coates, Director of Operations
Raymond DeCristofaro, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill    
Joe Delahunty, Discover
Hector Diaz, Intermountain Electronics*
Bill Doty, C.H. Robinson Worldwide*
Bob Dussault, FastBridge Learning
Andy Dwyer, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Timothy Elliott, Maintech
Jeff Eppinette, Duke Energy
Sharif Fotouh, EdgePoint Systems
Jeremy Gigliotti, University of Colorado Boulder
Sherrie Greer Calhoun, Tesla Motors
Adam Groves, Premier Technology
John Heiderscheidt, MDI Access, Inc.
Keith Holewinski, The Motorists Insurance Group
Melissa Hoodhood, State of Michigan
Kevin Kent, The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
Thomas Lang, Involta LLC
Doreene Lorenzen, Hennepin County IT
Carl McMillon, Duke University
Scott Melody, Express
Rudy Messex, Arma Global
Mark Monroe, Energetic Consulting*
Lucas Mistelske, Involta LLC
Kyle Moore, Neustar
Ethel Naseem, Cleveland Clinic
Pat O’Brien, CBRE
Darryl Ostlund, Health Partners
Walt Otis, Robert Half International
Dan Parent, OneEvent Technologies
John Parker, ESRI*
Niral Patel, HCL Technology, Inc. (Becton & Dickinson)
Brenda Pittman, SAS Institute Inc
Jeff Potter, Xcel Energy
Jack Pouchet, Vertiv
Joseph Prisco, IBM
Howard Ray, Infor
Christopher Reece, The TJX Companies
Harry Richardson, East Bay Municipal Utility District (EBMUD)
John Robertson, Blizzard Entertainment
M.S. “Rob” Robertson, Duke Energy
John Schwierling, Cincinnati Children’s Group
Pat Siebenaler, University of Minnesota
Greg Sparks, North Carolina State University
Nat Tafuri, zColo, A Zayo Company
Jathin Ullal, Saygo
Daniel Watters, Genesys
Michael Welch, OCLC
Ronnie Williams, IQVIA (formerly QuintilesIMS)
David Wood, Raritan

*Member of the AFCOM Data Center Institute board of directors